The Hurt Chronicles#7

My Apologies

I’m sorry that I loved you,
I’m sorry that I cared.
I’m sorry you didn’t give a damn,
If I had known, I wouldn’t have dared.

I’m sorry for supporting you,
I’m sorry for being a friend.
I’m sorry you saw me as an available resource,
You gave me scars that will never mend.

I’m sorry for being your shadow,
I’m sorry for sharing your pain.
I’m sorry you preferred to betray me,
You were the drug that kept me sane.

I’m sorry for not seeing the real you,
I’m sorry for being so blind.
I’m sorry for overlooking your faults in love,
Was I so out of my mind.

So here I stand, face-to-face,
I’m taking all I gave.
You were right, I’m guilty of trusting you,
This shame I’ll take to my grave.
Hence, my apologies….

17 comments on “The Hurt Chronicles#7

  1. Irish Katie says:

    oh …. this is….not sad. But … makes me think of sorrow…

  2. I wrote it in an aftermath of a broken friendship…so yes sorrow defines it.
    Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  3. Excellently written, I think the 3rd verse is my favourite. πŸ™‚

  4. Pat Bean says:

    Beautiful strong words. But I think you have nothing to be sorry for.

  5. I will definitely do so πŸ™‚

  6. Hani Abidi says:

    Do you think any relationship can end in peace?

  7. That is exactly what I intend to find out. Though as far as I’ve experienced, I would say no. But still I think that if we found the right person, we might just end up in a peaceful happy relationship.

  8. You don’t have to be sorry. You sound like a lovely person. Whoever it was did not deserve a gem of a person like you. So stay happy… πŸ˜€

  9. Thank you for the lovely comment.. πŸ™‚

  10. Thanks for this beautiful poem. You gave me words for my pain.

  11. I am honored you feel that way. Thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

