Letters to ‘YOU’- Part 1

Hey,

        I found an old picture of us in the back of my drawer today (guess it managed to survive my post breakup bonfire somehow). You know what was funny about that picture? We were happy; we were holding hands and smiling. So what happened? What made you leave me in the middle of a crisis?

I know you said you never wanted to talk about this but I really need some closure. We used to be such good friends; damn I woke up half the night once just to hear you whine about some stupid girl you had a crush on. So why is it that we don’t even see each other anymore? I knew it was a bad idea to turn our friendship into something more but you won’t listen. You promised to take care of everything, swore that nothing would come between our friendship. Then why do you pass by me every morning, ignoring me as if I was a complete stranger. Do you even realise how much that hurts? I guess you don’t, but then I should have known better right?

I still remember that night you broke my heart. “Thank you for loving me”, that is all you needed to end a decade old friendship. Was it really that easy? Was I really that replaceable?

Just say the words; tell me you were never my friend and I will be at peace. Just a few words and I’ll be free of you.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                Yours…….

9 comments on “Letters to ‘YOU’- Part 1

  1. sakuraandme says:

    Oh No! This nearly made me cry!! Hugs Paula xxx

  2. Hani Abidi says:

    I think people change with time; everyone does; I have to. It’s easy for us to think of life as black and white. And thus your friend never cared emerges. However, it might not be completely true. Life sucks. However, I like Paulo Coelho’s quotes:

    “Anyone who has lost something they thought was theirs forever finally comes to realise that nothing really belongs to them.”
    ― Paulo Coelho

    “In love, no one can harm anyone else; we are each of us responsible for our own feelings and cannot blame someone else for what we feel. It hurt when I lost each of the various men I fell in love with. Now, though, I am convinced that no one loses anyone, because no one owns anyone. That is the true experience of freedom: having the most important thing in the world without owning it.”
    ― Paulo Coelho

  3. Yes, people do change. It is the way of life. But it can’t be used as an excuse by him for hurting me the way he did.
    I really loved those quotes…thank you for sharing them with me 🙂

    • Hani Abidi says:

      No, it can’t be used as an excuse for hurting. Life is strange. What’s important at one stage might not matter tomorrow. Well expressed !

  4. awwww, closure and understanding why, they go together. To ease the pain, some logic to sort out the mire of pain. We crave it. Next time you pass each other, stick out your tongue and keep going. That will teach him. 🙂

    Mend your heart for the next one, who will be more deserving of its love. This one was a mere stepping stone to your true happiness.

    *hugs*

  5. pseudomonaz says:

    People change and so do their feelings. You deserve someone better, a better friend and a better lover and life is not always the same. It’ll change for you. Smile for you are a better person than him.

Leave a Reply

