Love Woes

You don’t know what love is
Until you’ve learned the meaning of the blues
Until you’ve loved a love you had to lose
You don’t know what love is

-Chet Baker

Is it true that you can’t love until you’ve lost? Listening to this song today made me realize that somehow love has always been related to pain and hurt. I’ve never had somebody tell me how beautiful love is or how it brought them happiness but there is always a friend who is lamenting over falling in love.

As a kid I had heard of ‘love at first sight’ and ‘happily ever after’, but I guess that is all fairy tale stuff. Nobody in real life falls in love and stays happy right?

I have loved and lost but I’m not sure if I still have found out what love is. As a matter of fact now I’m scared of it.

I feel that love should be something that brings you inner peace. Like when you are in his arms you feel home, you feel happy; a sense of belonging. Loving someone should be easy, like breathing.

What are your experiences? What is love according to you?

20 comments on “Love Woes

  1. iamforchange says:

    I feel your pain in a way that I feel I may share a thought. Love is! It all begins inside as you already noted it should make you feel comfortable inside. That love comes from only one… You will find love of you inside you. I have loved and thought I lost many times, In the end don’t let fear stop you from sharing your love of self and the gift you are. You are very loved in the divine sense and I share my love as well… 🙂 You are awesome, keep loving and being love!

    • Thanks a lot for sharing this wonderful thought and for sharing your love 🙂

      • iamforchange says:

        I think you are quite awesome and wanted to share a smile 🙂 I am glad that love shared brought that smile! Your true beauty shows in your words as they come from your heart. I appreciate such beauty and the love in your heart… I hope you do as well for you are quite awesome! even if some don’t see it there are many that see you standing tall and shining!

  2. deanabo says:

    I believe in love, It can hurt you as much as it can make you feel good.

  3. Oh that question has never been asked before. 🙂 Love is the inner smile you have when you picture them, the glow that you feel spread through you. The person you always want to share with, a smile, some news, happiness and their sadness.

    Stays in love, oh yes. Watch some seniors, walking hand in hand. Watch them when one leaves, the tears. yes love lasts.

    Stays happy.. nope. There are always tests, strains of some sort. Love means they are worked out though. Love is sharing.

    Don’t fear it please. It is beautiful and you deserve it.

  4. It can take some time to find true love. Many in their 20’s, 30’s and 40’s still search for that peace and contentment being with someone that lets them be them. I found it when I was 53 – yes many relationships – many yes I was in love and not just lust. Now I am happy to say I have it all. I hear songs that once ‘were ours’ in previous relationships throughout the years. Sometimes you think it will never happen, you are destined for a broken heart and never finding true happiness…but RG never say never for it will happen when you least expect it to. Beautiful piece xxx

  5. Ruby says:

    People are getting hurt by love cos they don’t love themselves first so they wait for someone to love them on their own conditions. I found that on the hard way but the journey mattered the most!

  6. Similar to what you just said. Better stay feeling-less than getting hurt every other day.

  7. I agree Prateek. I found it easier to give up all together than getting myself hurt every time.

  8. I do not know you personally but I get to know that you’ve been hurt by someone whom you loved madly.

    Let me tell you something…

    You are an amazing person and you are very very special. 🙂

    Thought of sharing a couple of my posts with you. Hope it helps….
    http://allwinbrightwrites.wordpress.com/2012/10/29/allwin-bright-writes/
    http://allwinbrightwrites.wordpress.com/2012/10/29/allwins-reply/

    So stay happy. 🙂 :):)

    I know its easier said than done but, give it a try.

  9. Thanks a lot for sharing these wonderful posts 🙂 and thanks for making me feel special 😀 Stay blessed..

  10. TIma says:

    Thank you for sharing your innermost thoughts and fears on love. In my experience, I have learned that love is so much more than just feelings. It really is a choice. There are different stages to love, the first stage is probably the riskiest, because it is based on emotions. Emotions can change very quickly and so it is easy to be hurt. Love that is long lasting, matures and grows over time. The high emotions may fade, but what replaces it is beautiful as well. It’s beautiful because it takes so much more to love someone by choice and not just on emotions. Hope this makes sense. Don’t fear love, for you are loved. You were loved into existence. Stay strong and open, love is worth the risk.

  11. Thanks a lot for your wonderful comment 🙂 You are right, the first step is indeed the most risky. Trusting somebody is a hard thing to do. I’m trying to fight away my fears and I just hope I’ll find that person someday whom I can love by choice..

  12. johncoyote says:

    Love changes with age. Age teaches us love is caring, taking care of and having fun. Love is hard to maintain. A wise person seek new ways to make their pardner content. A very good question in the blog.

  13. Thanks a lot for visiting and for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

  14. hello, again… losing in love’s at the early part of one’s life, i guess. as one matures, she’s able to love more openly, more realistically and less romantically, ahaha. as one takes hold of herself, her strengths and weaknesses, she is more able to love in an open and confident way, i suppose. thus, as you grow old and more self-aware, your ability to love is also honed better. when you’re able to love in a free and unencumbered way, you’ll find that it is also reciprocated better, ahaha. i hope what i said made sense. waving… 🙂

Leave a Reply

