Family Portrait

A shattered family portrait

A pillow stained with tears

The raised voices and shattered hopes

As innocence simply stares.

I’m scared daddy please don’t fight

I just can’t take it no more

Why can’t we be a happy family

Just like we were before.

I close myself and shut them out

As I hear her silently weep

I find a sanctuary in my bed

And cry myself to sleep.

No, mommy please don’t cry

Look what I made for you

I swear I’d be a good girl

Together we’ll make it through.

13 comments on “Family Portrait

  1. deanabo says:

    This is so sad. A lot of times parents don’t realize what you doing to the children. Unfortunately the children almost always blame themselves. You get a great job capturing these emotions.

  2. senses a closeness to the words.

  3. Heartbreakingly tender RG xx

  4. Kids are emotionally harmed when parents fight. We don’t often realize the long-lasting effect and the negative impact it has on kids. It is often overlooked.

    Kudos to you for touching upon a such a sensitive subject.

  5. pseudomonaz says:

    This was the first post of yours that i read but i decided to comment on it after reading other posts of yours. You know this poem touched me, it made me cry because i’ve myself experienced it. And i hate it. This was something i could never really write on my blog because i wasn’t brave enough. You have rightly portrayed all the emotions here. Thank you for sharing this.

  6. Thanks girl…I know it is hard and it took a lot of courage on my side to post this. I hope you are okay now. These kind of experiences can leave you scarred for a very long time..

Leave a Reply

