The Wait

She stood there alone, unfazed by the storm around her. The cold of the pouring rain seeped right through the thin fabric covering her body sending chills up her spine. But she refused to move.

No…she will not move untilΒ he returned.

He had to come. He had said so in the last letter he wrote to her. It was their daughter’s first birthday and he promised he’d come.

It had been hours but she kept standing at her doorstep, her eyes glued to the corner of the street looking; waiting for the familiar car to turn up miraculously. They had been having some problems recently but she loved him. She wanted to make it up to him, to apologise for all the times they had fought. She wanted to make a new beginning.

Suddenly she felt a movement in her peripheral vision. She squinted trying to see through her tear filled eyes. It was Brent, he was her husband’s best friend. He held a gift package and a letter in his hands. The sudden realisation that her husband was not going to come hit her hard, he had sent Brent instead to deliver the package.

She stood up calm and poised, refusing to break down in front of this stranger.

He handed over the contents in his hands without a word. She looked down at the box. Yes, it was from her husband. She turned to the letter and froze.

It wasn’t from her husband, it had the army seal on it. She opened the letter with shaking hands.

Three words and she broke down with heart breaking sobs.

Three words and she knew her world will never be the same.

Three words….

Killed in action.

p.s. This is the first time I’m trying to write a prose so please bear with me πŸ™‚

15 comments on “The Wait

  1. sakuraandme says:

    Oh NO!! That felt so incredibly sad. Hugs Paula xxx

  2. This was such a gripping narrative. Thoroughly enjoyed reading it. You are adept at prose too. πŸ™‚
    Write some more. I am sure that I’ll enjoy reading your prose pieces as much as I enjoyed your poetry.

  3. RG this was extremely well done honey, can I just add something that may help? (and feel free to chuck what I say out the window) as I am no great writer of prose or poetry (in my mind). I feel this is poetic prose, or as I read and saw it a story.

    Have a look at this it may assist? http://www.poemtree.com/articles/PoetryOrProse.htm

    I hope I haven’t offended, just trying to guide – you are a, passionate and talented writer and this show cased that, looking forward to many more πŸ™‚ xx

    • Thanks a lot πŸ™‚ I really appreciate you taking the time to read and give me such a wonderful review. Even I thought it was more like a poem πŸ˜€ I read the link you sent me and it was very helpful. Don’t worry at all I loved the fact that you are tryibg to help me become a better writer * hugs*

  4. deanabo says:

    Wow. Your words blew me away in this. Stunning writing.

  5. Ending was totally unexpected πŸ˜›

  6. iamforchange says:

    http://iamforchange.wordpress.com/awards-page-and-nominations-thank-you-i-am-so-honored-and-grateful/ So many have shared so much with me and I wish to share as well please accept my nominations and if nothing else know I am grateful for your sharing on your pages with us all and the time you share with me on mine.Thank you!! πŸ™‚ Joe

  7. Irish Katie says:

    RG … that was a stunning piece of writing. If this is your first attempt at this style of writing …OMG. Very well done.

  8. Ray says:

    Nicely done. Sad story, but those are the memorable ones. I feel the same way about songs… You remember the sad ones.

Leave a Reply

